V CHAM Conference

CHAM – Centre for the Humanities of NOVA FCSH is proud to announce the organisation of its V International Conference on Frontiers of Humanity and Beyond: Towards new critical understandings of borders.

The covid-19 pandemic is exacerbating a global-scale conscience on the limits of human life on Earth, and is putting to the fore the mutual interaction between social, cultural and natural processes. A whole new understanding of the essence and role of borders needs to be brought into focus. 

The V CHAM International Conference will happen between the 21st and 23rd of July 2021. This will be a hybrid event – presential and online – held in FCSH, Lisbon.

Side Events

Tuesday 20 July, 17H00

Guided Tour to Museu da Água – Aqueduto das Águas Livres, Lisbon.

Only for Conference participants. If you are interested in this guided visit, please book your place by sending an email to chamconference@fcsh.unl.pt

Thursday 22 July, 9H15

The Liri Valley, a unique border between the Heaven and the Earth by Paolo Silvi (President of Apassiferrati Association) and Laura Saturnino (Università degli Studi di Cassino e del Lazio Meridionale). Open event.

Friday 23 July, 9H15

Peoples, Nature and Environments: The launching of a book and a special issue. Edited by Ana Cristina Roque, Cecilia Veracini and Cristina Brito. Presented by Antonio Ortega Santos. Open event.

Keynote Speakers

Wednesday 21 July

Abolition Geography: Contemporary Radical Internationalism

Ruth Wilson Gilmore, Graduate Center, City University of New York

Thursday 22 July

“Frontier Informants and the Subversion of Portuguese Imperial Power in Brazil”

Hal Langfur, Department of History, College of Arts and Sciences, University at Buffalo


“Bordered Imagination”

Shahram Khosravi, Department of Social Anthropology, Stockholm University

Scientific Commission

Pablo Sánchez León (Chair) (CHAM, History and Social Sciences)
Adelino Cardoso (CHAM, Philosophy)
António Camões Gouveia (CHAM, Cultural Studies)
Carla Alferes Pinto (CHAM, Art History)
Claudia Rosas Lauro (Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú, Early Modern History)
Cristina Brito (CHAM, Marine Environmental History; Blue Humanities)
David Beorlegui (Universidad del País Vasco, Modern History)
Henrique Leitão (Universidade de Lisboa, History of Science)
Izaro Gorostidi (Universidad del País Vasco, Political Science)

João Luís Lisboa (CHAM, Cultural Studies)
João Paulo Oliveira e Costa (CHAM, History of the Portuguese Expansion)
Juan Marchena Fernández (Universidad Pablo de Olavide, History)
Juciene Ricarte Apolinário (Universidade Federal de Campina Grande, History)
Laura Fernández de Mosteyrin (Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia-UNED, Political Science)
Luís Vicente (Universidade de Lisboa, Philosophy of Science)
Mark Harris (University of Saint Andrews, Anthropology)

Pedro Cardim (CHAM, Political History)
Rafael Chambouleyron (Universidade Federal do Pará, Early Modern History)                                                                      
Susana de Matos Viegas (ICS – Universidade de Lisboa, Anthropology)

Organising Committee

Pablo Sánchez León (Chair)
Nina Vieira (Chair)
Pablo Ibáñez-Bonillo
Vanessa Rato
Nunziatella Alessandrini
Patrícia Carvalho
Rui Loureiro